• Adware on Google Play and Apple Store installed 13 million times

    Home » Forums » Cyber Security Information and Advisories » Code Red – Security/Privacy advisories » Adware on Google Play and Apple Store installed 13 million times

    • This topic has 4 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 2 months ago.
    Author
    Topic
    #2482473

    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/adware-on-google-play-and-apple-store-installed-13-million-times/

    Security researchers have discovered 75 applications on Google Play and another ten on Apple’s App Store engaged in ad fraud. Collectively, they add to 13 million installations.

    Apart from flooding mobile users with advertisements, both visible and hidden, the fraudulent apps also generated revenue by impersonating legitimate apps and impressions.

    Although these types of apps are not seen as a severe threat, their operators can use them for more dangerous activity.

    Researchers from HUMAN’s Satori Threat Intelligence team identified a collection of mobile apps that are part of a new ad fraud campaign that they named ‘Scylla’..

    iOS app list:

    Loot the Castle – com.loot.rcastle.fight.battle (id1602634568)
    Run Bridge – com.run.bridge.race (id1584737005)
    Shinning Gun – com.shinning.gun.ios (id1588037078)
    Racing Legend 3D – com.racing.legend.like (id1589579456)
    Rope Runner – com.rope.runner.family (id1614987707)
    Wood Sculptor – com.wood.sculptor.cutter (id1603211466)
    Fire-Wall – com.fire.wall.poptit (id1540542924)
    Ninja Critical Hit – wger.ninjacriticalhit.ios (id1514055403)
    Tony Runs – com.TonyRuns.game

    Android app list (1+ million downloads)

    Super Hero-Save the world! – com.asuper.man.playmilk
    Spot 10 Differences – com.different.ten.spotgames
    Find 5 Differences – com.find.five.subtle.differences.spot.new
    Dinosaur Legend – com.huluwagames.dinosaur.legend.play
    One Line Drawing – com.one.line.drawing.stroke.yuxi
    Shoot Master – com.shooter.master.bullet.puzzle.huahong
    Talent Trap – NEW – com.talent.trap.stop.all

    The full list of applications part of the Scylla ad-fraud wave is available in HUMAN’s report

    .

    Viewing 1 reply thread
    Author
    Replies
    • #2482552


      The Satori team have informed Google and Apple about their findings and the apps have been removed from the official Android and iOS stores.

      On Android devices, unless you have the Play Protect security option disabled, the apps should be detected automatically.

      Windows 11 Pro version 22H2 build 22621.898 + Microsoft 365/Edge

    • #2482728

      the apps have been removed from the official Android and iOS stores.

      ..But not from 13 million users devices.
      Were was Google’s Play Protect when these apps where uploaded to Google Play ?

      • #2482759

        Were was Google’s Play Protect when these apps where uploaded to Google Play ?

        Sitting on 2.5 billion devices waiting for suspicious downloads. (But most of the fraudulent app downloads were from the Apple store.)

        Windows 11 Pro version 22H2 build 22621.898 + Microsoft 365/Edge

        • #2482764

          “Google Play Protect checks apps when you install them”

          It should protect when you upload apps to Google Play

    Viewing 1 reply thread
    Reply To: Adware on Google Play and Apple Store installed 13 million times

    You can use BBCodes to format your content.
    Your account can't use all available BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.

    Your information: