News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Chrome (64) crashes after about a minute. Help?

Posted on rpkroppjr Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Questions: Browsers and desktop software Chrome (64) crashes after about a minute. Help?

Viewing 4 reply threads
    • Author
        rpkroppjr
        AskWoody Plus

Suddenly this morning Chrome (64) repeatedly crashes/quits after about a minute or so. It says it’s up to date – Version 85.0.4183.121. I’m not a novice at keeping Windows happy, but this is unprecedented for me – a sudden change like this over night. Using Opera right now for this. I’d really appreciate someone out there to weigh in. Thanks . . . .

• #2298122 Reply
        Myst
        AskWoody Plus

If you have a problem with a Chrome release report it to this link Chrome issues

You can also go to this link for help with crashes Chrome crashes

Win7 Home x64 MacOS Chromebook

• #2298254 Reply
        rpkroppjr
        AskWoody Plus

Thanks for the links. Not sure I’m tech savvy enough to do anything else than describe the behavior, tho. I’ll give it a whirl when I have some time later this week.

The single Update for Microsoft Windows that occurred just before this madness began is KB4570723. I’ve never done an uninstall for an update – fearing gremlins lurking too. Any advice on that score?

Thanks again . . . .

1 user thanked author for this post.
        • #2298280 Reply
          GoneToPlaid
          AskWoody Lounger

Uninstall KB4570723 since it is a preview update. You should not have any issues uninstalling KB4570723.

Never install preview updates, as that is asking for problems. On my Win7 computers, I am updated through August, yet I am holding off on the September updates for now.