News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Completely back up, reset, and restore my G7 ThinQ

Posted on areader Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Non-Windows operating systems Android Completely back up, reset, and restore my G7 ThinQ

Viewing 5 reply threads
    • Author
        areader
        AskWoody Plus

My phone no longer reads fingerprints. The Verizon store said to completely back up the phone and do a factory reset and restore, and if it still doesn’t work, then I’m eligible for a new phone.The problem is, I haven’t a clue how to do any of that.

I need recommendations on a free app(s) that will back up everything, back up to my computer also (just in case!) and then let me, I hope, selectively restore apps and data. Think absolute newbie level knowledge of cell phones: this ThinQ is my first smart phone and I’ve had it about a year.

And once I’ve backed everything up, how do I test that backup? And where do I find instructions for the reset?

TIA

anonymous

? says:

areader, i googled it and verizon has a “help page,”:

https://www.verizon.com/support/knowledge-base-218154/

hopefully it offers enough help to really help…

areader
          AskWoody Plus

Thank you! Now to see if I can actually follow the directions.

Alex5723
        AskWoody Plus

Android OS doesn’t have a full backup system (so no restore either) and you have to rely on 3rd party applications.
        The best 3rd party backup app is Titanium Backup which requires ROOT access.

• This reply was modified 1 month, 3 weeks ago by Alex5723.
          mn–
          AskWoody Lounger