News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Dell Update Utility

Posted on seattlerust Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by

seattlerust 1 week, 2 days ago.

• Author

seattlerust
      AskWoody Plus

I am running Windows 10 Pro (64 bit) on a Dell XPS 8900 with 32 GB of Ram and a Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070 display adapter. I have been using Dell computers for many years and have never used the Dell Update Utility to keep it current with Dell updates. I am wondering what I am missing and what the consensus is as to the advisability of using this tool. Any opinions?

Thanks,
      Seattlerust

• #1873691 Reply

ScotchJohn
      AskWoody Plus

Funny that you should ask.  I assume that you are writing about Dell SupportAssist.  Today, DSA (for short) kept on pushing driver updates that I knew that I had already installed, months ago.  I wonder whether there is something wrong with it, and am waiting for an update.

Dell E5570 Latitude, Intel Core i5 6440@2.60 GHz, 8.00 GB - Win 10 Pro

• #1873714 Reply

joep517
      AskWoody MVP

In my experience, unless you are having problems with your system there is usually not a good read to update drivers. You should go to the OEM support site and check what various updates change/fix. If there are security issues fixed you should consider installing them.

I have not found a good reason to have support software from any OEM running continuously. I have used both Dell and HP support programs to periodically check for updates and then decide what I want to install (if anything).

--Joe

1 user thanked author for this post.
    • #1873746 Reply

RetiredGeek
      AskWoody MVP

Seattlerust,

Personally, I have removed the program from all 5 of my Dell computers.