News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Excel 2016 vs. Dragon Professional 15

Posted on Kathy Stevens Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Microsoft Office by version Questions: Microsoft Office Excel 2016 vs. Dragon Professional 15

Tagged: 

Viewing 6 reply threads
    • Author
        Kathy Stevens
        AskWoody Plus

Until recently I have been able to dictate numbers and text into the cells of Excel 2016 using Nuance Dragon Professional Individual 15.30.000.006.

As of yesterday, my ability to dictate into Excel is sporadic. I can dictate into new spreadsheets but not spreadsheets I have been using for several years.

I did a computer update from Windows 10 professional 1809 to 1903 on December 23 and updated Microsoft Office Home and Business 2016 during the week of January 5.

I also reinstalled and updated Dragon yesterday.

The NatSpeak Excel Add-in shows as active when I go into Excel Options

I have no problem dictating into new MS Word 2016 documents.

I would appreciate any thoughts related to a workaround for using Dragon on older spreadsheets.

• #2141160 Reply
        RetiredGeek
        AskWoody MVP

Kathy,

Are the workbooks you’ve been using for years still in the old .xls file format?

Not sure if it is the problem but you might want to convert them to the newer format .xlsx for standard workbooks and .xlsm for those containing macros (VBA code).

HTH 😎

May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!
        Computer Specs

• #2141200 Reply
        Kathy Stevens
        AskWoody Plus

RetiredGeek

The workbook in question was started in 2006 and has been periodically modified and updated daily since then. It contains a huge amount of data, a large number of formulas and links, and is currently in the .xlsx format.