News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • How do you select updates to download/install

Posted on berniec Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 10 Windows 10 version 1809 – September 2018 Update How do you select updates to download/install

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by

berniec 1 day, 18 hours ago.

• Author

berniec
      AskWoody Plus

I’m fairly new to win10 and this is my first runin with a monthly rollup.  I’m running win10/pro 1809.  I’ve disabled all the auto-updating stuff [both via the ‘defer’ machinery in settings AND with the group policy editor.  I’m quite happy with that — I get a notification about every other day for a defender update and that’s great.

But now I have a defender update AND the June rollup and I can’t find a way to tell win10 just to do the defender rollup and continue to wait with the others.   The way people talk about selecting updates made me think there was going to be a win7-like dialogue where you could check and unchecked updates but the only thing I have on the updates page is “updates avaiable, the list of them [five right now] all marked “Pending download” and a “Download” button.

What do I do to be able to select updates to download/install?

• #1840706 Reply

Cybertooth
      AskWoody Lounger

There’s no built-in way in Windows 10 to pick and choose the updates you’ll take.

There are ways to accomplish what you want, but they involve using special applications made for that purpose. The best-known one is the Windows Update MiniTool, but I believe there is at least one other program like it, whose name I can’t remember.