• How to transfer my current files into a new SSD

Home » Forums » AskWoody support » Windows » Windows 10 » Questions: Win10 » How to transfer my current files into a new SSD

Author
    Topic

I have read the latest AskWoody Plus Newsletter, and I am interested in how to transfer my files into a new larger size SSD. I’ve never done this task before and am curious. There may be a topic on this, but I haven’t found it. I first need to purchase a new SSD to install before I take on the task of transferring everything over. Is there a reliable SSD that I should look for? Preferably a 2TB SSD. Any tips and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Viewing 9 reply threads
    Author
    Replies

Any SSD that fits your machine, has a warranty and fits your price bracket is the one to buy.

What is the model of your PC and disk drive?

Before you do anything you need a full backup. If you don’t have one you will need additional hardware to move the data.
      What backup program do you use?

Are you sure you need a 2TB SSD. If you have room in the PC you can fit a smaller SSD as well as the original and install Windows on the SSD, then leave your big files on the original disk.

cheers, Paul

Personally, I always buy Samsung SSDs, which isn’t to say other makes aren’t just as good.

As for transferring all the files over from your old drive, there are a lot of very good programs out there that can easily accomplish this for you.

I’ve been using Paragon for many years (currently using their free for non-commercial purposes Backup & Recovery Community Edition) and never had any issues with using it, including transferring my existing files over to new drives when needed.

I’m sure others will chime in with their “just as good preferences” shortly.

We use Western Digital Black drives.

If you are new to the installation of drives think about having a tech do the work for you. If you are in the states, we have found the people at Best Buy and Micro Center do good work.