News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Image Backup / Portable Hard Drive

Home Forums AskWoody support PC hardware Questions – Maintenance and backups Image Backup / Portable Hard Drive

Viewing 12 reply threads
    • Author
        ECWS
        AskWoody Plus

Thanks to the suggestions here, I have purchased a Western Digital 2TB My Passport Portable Hard Drive (NTFS).  I obtained it to take an image of a computer I am planning to reluctantly upgrade from Windows 7 PRO to Windows 10 PRO.

Next I have to get software such as Macrium Reflect.

Questions:

Anyone have experience or suggestions on which software works better since I have never done this before?

Do I download and install the software on the Portable Hard Drive?

Do I have to partition the hard drive?  (Not even sure how I would do that or why).

Drive is only showing 1.81 TB available since I have “Install Discovery for Windows.exe” 1089 KB and “Install Discovery for Mac.dmg” 848 KB.  Not sure if I need these or if I could always download in the future if I did.  Should I remove them?

• #2300202 Reply
        PKCano
        Da Boss

Two of the recommended free backup software are Macrium Reflect and EaseUS Todo. Both are good.
        You need to install the backup s/w on your PC, then create bootable Rescue Media, either CD or USB. You need to be sure you can boot from the Rescue Media.

To backup, you run the software on your PC and point it to save the image on your external HDD. You should backup your computer’s entire drive (all partitions).
        I usually create a folder on the backup drive with the date of the backup, and have the backup save to that folder.