News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Linux Mint on an old Mac laptop?

Posted on LHiggins Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Non-Windows operating systems Linux – all distros Linux Mint on an old Mac laptop?

Viewing 2 reply threads
    • Author
        LHiggins
        AskWoody Plus

Hello!

I have a question about possibly installing Linux Mint on an older Mac laptop. I “may” have the opportunity to get an older (not sure how old), very inexpensive (or even free?) Mac laptop that I’d want to put Mint on. I have very little experience with Macs and really no idea what to consider as basic system requirements to do that – or if it would even be a good idea at all. My thought is to just replace the Mac OS with Mint and make it a single boot machine, so I’m really most interested in the hardware that would be important, and capability to connect to the internet, of course.

I would appreciate any suggestions as to what I should find out about an older Mac if I wanted to try this, since I really don’t know where to start in asking the right questions. Or ideas on whether this is even something I should spend time on, or just continue to look into a refurbished Windows machine instead.

Thanks so much!

• #2287568 Reply
        PKCano
        Da Boss

If the Mac boots, in the menu at the top left, click on the “Apple logo” then “About this Mac.”

The information on the “Overview,”, “Displays,” “Storage,” and “Memory” tabs would be helpful (screenshot).
        Also, on the “Overview” tab, click on “System Report.” The information on the “Hardware Overview” would be useful.
        With this information, there is a general look at the compatibility of the hardware.

About-this-Mac-1

Hardware-Overview2

Attachments:
        2 users thanked author for this post.