News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Need a password manager

Posted on cellsee6 Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 7 Questions: Windows 7 Need a password manager

This topic contains 23 replies, has 14 voices, and was last updated by  Paul T 4 days, 18 hours ago.

• Author

cellsee6
      AskWoody Plus

I have a client who has 6 computers all running Windows 7 Pro in a peer to peer network (no server).  Firefox is the browser on all the computers.  The users have a habit of clicking on the “remember me” box because they do not want to type in the password to websites which require a log in.

I am not an expert on password managers.

Question:

What password manager would you choose for inexperienced computer users and why?

Thank you for your help.

• #2006604 Reply

ScotchJohn
      AskWoody Plus

Roboform – I’ve tried others, especially when they moved to a subscription model, but keep on coming back to RF.  Support is good.

Dell E5570 Latitude, Intel Core i5 6440@2.60 GHz, 8.00 GB - Win 10 Pro

• #2006606 Reply

gpmartens1
      AskWoody Plus

I have used Roboform for probably 10 years, but also use and prefer Lastpass for it’s format, and it’s use on both a computer and on smartphones.  Also have used Dashlane a little.

• #2006814 Reply

JC Zorkoff
      AskWoody Plus

I like KeePass. I find it easy to use and flexible. Some commentators at PC Mag think it is too techie, but they don’t say what that means.

In choosing a Password Manager, you need to consider if sharing of the information among several computers (or users) is important. If it is, a cloud based manager like LastPass might be the best choice.

KeePass keeps it’s data in a file on the current computer. This makes sharing difficult.