News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon

We're community supported and proud of it!

  • New GP setting ‘“Disable Safeguards for Feature Updates”’

    Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 10 Questions: Win10 New GP setting ‘“Disable Safeguards for Feature Updates”’

    Viewing 0 reply threads
    • Author
      Posts
      • #2306390
        Alex5723
        AskWoody Plus

        Opt out of safeguard holds

        Safeguard holds prevent a device with a known compatibility issue from being offered a new Windows 10 feature update by using Windows Update. We use safeguard holds to protect the device and user from a failed or poor update experience. We renew the offering once a fix is issued and is verified on an affected device.

        IT admins can, if necessary, opt devices out of safeguard protections by using the disable safeguards policy. In a Mobile Device Management (MDM) tool, use the Update/DisableWUfBSafeguards CSP. In Group Policy, use the Disable safeguards for Feature Updates Group Policy. This policy is available to Windows Update for Business devices running Windows 10, version 1809 or later that have installed the October 2020 security update.

        Caution

        Opting out of a safeguard hold can put devices at risk from known performance issues.

        The policy was added with the October Patch Tuesday updates and works on Windows 10 version 1809 (October 2019 Update) with devices running Windows Update for Business. Though, the policy description itself mentions Windows 10 version 1903 or newer as the OS requirement.

        • This topic was modified 6 months, 3 weeks ago by Alex5723.
        4 users thanked author for this post.
    Viewing 0 reply threads

    Please follow the -Lounge Rules- no personal attacks, no swearing, no politics or religion.

    Reply To: New GP setting ‘“Disable Safeguards for Feature Updates”’

    You can use BBCodes to format your content.
    Your account can't use Advanced BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.