News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Newbie, How do use AskWoody to know which patch is good or bad

Posted on hongning Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 8.1 Questions: Win 8.1 (and Win 8) Newbie, How do use AskWoody to know which patch is good or bad

Tagged: 

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by

Purg2 1 year, 6 months ago.

• Author

hongning
      AskWoody Lounger

Sorry I am new to this, I cant seem to figure out, how will I know which patch are good and which are bad.  Is there a general list for a Windows version which says which patch is good or bad?  Thanks for helping out a newbie

• #144554 Trash | Reply

Purg2
      AskWoody Lounger

Welcome to the group Hongning.

What I do is pay attention to the most recent topic regarding the MS-DEFCON status.  Right now it is set at two.  The DEFCON system is detailed in a topic that is linked at the top of the forum on the toolbar: Home, Lounge Forums, MS-DEFCON System.  To go along with that status, Woody will usually post a topic raising it or lowering it, usually on patch Tuesday or the week before. In this topic there will be a published article on Computer World highlighting updates & issues that might be problematic & which ones are challenging & so forth.  I will watch this topic like a hawk so I can stay current on which updates effect me & the things that others mention about them.