News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon

We're community supported and proud of it!

• Random BSOD coming out of Sleep Windows 20H2

Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 10 Random BSOD coming out of Sleep Windows 20H2

Tagged: ,

• This topic has 9 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago.
    Viewing 9 reply threads
    • Author
        Steven Dietz
        AskWoody Lounger

Posting here, hoping I get better suggestions than the usual pablum from Support.Microsoft. Been in IT since 85.  I know how to parse mini- and full dumps. (Have been suffering/enjoying MS since MSDOS 2.1 through current W10.) So suffice to I am not a newbie.
        Let me first say, I have done all the usual recommendations. Update to latest drivers, Memtest, Windows Update… Memtest shows no errors (even when run multiple times),  SFC shows no errors, same with CHKDSK.

Device:  HP Pavilion 15-CS2xxx series I-7-8565U, 24Gb RAM, 4Gb NVidia, 480Gb SSD. There were no hardware/software changes prior to this starting other than Windows and Office updates.

Scenario: Windows version is now 20H2, updated from 1903. I am getting random BSODs which happen only when coming out of sleep. I do not use Hibernation, only Hybrid sleep. The latest is a 0x01a PTE Memory Management error according to Parameter 1 and 2. Prior errors have been 0x12b, 0x3b, and c1.

This has happened since 20H2 update. At first, I thought it was the NVidia driver, and updated to latest for the MX250. It disappeared and has since reappeared recently.

The only statement I can make as to consistency is it happens if I have not restarted/shutdown and used Sleep mode more than five times. It then happens sometime later coming out of sleep.  Otherwise, if I shutdown once a day, there is no issue.