News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • /root full can't resize

Posted on RetiredGeek Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  mn– 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

• Author

RetiredGeek
      AskWoody MVP

Hey Y’all,

I’m a relative newbie to Linux Mint and I’m having a problem with my /root being full and not being able to update.

I’ve tried to purge the old versions of the kernel but it won’t run for lack of disk space. I’ve moved my Win 8.1 virtual machine files off to an network drive but still no luck.

Next I tried resizing the disks with a USB key version of gparted. I managed to get that done but then the machine won’t boot. I tried MJP’s solution in #1971464 but I get an error when I try to install boot-repair (E: Unable to locate package boot-repair)?

Here’s what gparted looks like before I started.
      gparted1
      GParted won’t let me resize the extended partition /dev/sda2 unless first delete /dev/sda5, but then of course it won’t boot.
      Sure glad I have Macrium Reflect Images of that drive!

Ideas? (please be very specific for this newbie!)

😎

May the Forces of good computing be with you!

RG

PowerShell & VBA Rule!
      Computer Specs

Attachments:
    • #2010527 Reply

mn–
      AskWoody Lounger

Ok, this is a fairly standard thing… first, please confirm that it is indeed /root that is full and not /boot?

The capture shows a /boot that is close to full, but doesn’t show a /root … which indeed usually isn’t a separate mount point but part of /. And if your / is full it’s a rather different situation than /boot being full.

Oh hey, it says sda5 has LVM on it. That may or may not make this easier… might not even need to reboot at all before finishing, depending what’s actually in there.