News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Seeking info on Malwarebytes

    Home Forums AskWoody support Questions: Browsers and desktop software Seeking info on Malwarebytes

    • This topic has 37 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 1 month ago.
    Viewing 26 reply threads
    • Author
      Posts
      • #2283262 Reply
        Tex265
        AskWoody Plus

        Using Windows Defender. I would like to try the Free version of Malwarebytes.

        Would appreciate any feedback from those that are using:

        Is there a portable version?

        Appears the Free version scans and will remove, but no real time running protection – correct?

        Any known problems with the product?

        Does it uninstall cleanly if want to remove?

        Windows 10 Pro x64 v1909 and Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64 (RIP)
      • #2283269 Reply
        OscarCP
        AskWoody Plus

        Tex265: There is Malwarebytes for Android and iOS, but it does not look like there is a free version for these mobile operating systems (there is a free version for macOS, on Mac PCs, that I am using.) For mobile, it looks like there is only a 30-day free trial period, so people can try it out and cancel the deal if they are not satisfied. Several of the safety features described in the Web page below are only available in the paid version for Macs — I already have a good antivirus installed in mine, with comparable features.

        Information on Malwarebytes for mobiles, here:

        https://www.malwarebytes.com/mobile/

        Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

      • #2283270 Reply
        anonymous
        Guest

        dude above say wrong. been using malwarebytes 5 yrs on desktop & laptop since win 7

        Solid product but free version not protect, just scan when u suspect mostly. bitdefender top rated active protection. i use both

        • #2283275 Reply
          OscarCP
          AskWoody Plus

          anonymous: Excuse me, but what is that “dude above say wrong?” Please, clarify. I see no contradiction between your comment and “dude above’s”.

          Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

          • #2283300 Reply
            bbearren
            AskWoody MVP

            but what is that “dude above say wrong?”

            Note that this forum is not about software for mobile phones, it’s about browser and desktop software.

            The OP is asking if there is a portable (i.e. does not have to be installed) version of Malwarebytes, not a mobile phone version.

            Create a fresh drive image before making system changes/Windows updates, in case you need to start over!
            "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns
            "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware

            1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2283277 Reply
        CADesertRat
        AskWoody Plus

        Using Windows Defender. I would like to try the Free version of Malwarebytes. Would appreciate any feedback from those that are using:

        I’ve been using the free version along with Defender for years. Works fine.

        Is there a portable version?

        Not that I know of.

        Appears the Free version scans and will remove, but no real time running protection – correct?

        correct.

        I haven’t had any problems with it over the years. Don’t know about uninstalling it as I haven’t tried but if I wanted to uninstall, I would just use REVO free portable.

        Don't take yourself so seriously, no one else does 🙂
        4 Win 10 Pro at 1909 (3 Desktops, 1 Laptop).

        3 users thanked author for this post.
      • #2283292 Reply
        anonymous
        Guest

        I’ve used malwarebytes for years, on the advice  of my daughter, who works as an IT for the county. Works well and have never had any issues.

        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2283317 Reply
        OscarCP
        AskWoody Plus

        Sorry, I was not sure what the OP meant by “portable” and I was not aware of the forum this thread is in.

        Answer to the actual OP question: YES, But… maybe this is not for just everyone:

        https://www.malwarebytes.com/techbench/

        Excerpt:

        The entire Malwarebytes Toolset is portable, and every tool works offline. This means there’s no need to download or install anything on a customer’s computer, just plug in your USB stick and start scanning. Bring 18 tools with you on a single flash drive and start malware scans up to 5 times faster.

        Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

        • #2283571 Reply
          anonymous
          Guest

          Yeah, sorry, Oscar, but that program’s only available to computer repair shops, not us regular folks. 🙁

          3 users thanked author for this post.
          • #2283851 Reply
            OscarCP
            AskWoody Plus

            Anonymous, Tex265 did not mention what he does for a living, so he or she is not necessarily a home user. In any case, I think the information in the article linked in my previous comment is interesting, particularly to those you have pointed out: people who takes care of others’ computers. Of whom there are more than a few that are frequent visitors of “AskWoody”, including anonymous ones, I would imagine.

            Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

      • #2283428 Reply
        CraigS26
        AskWoody Plus

        I’ve used the Paid Ver for years With ESET EIS & even SuperAS Pro (now deleted), and never had any bad issues with Mbam Or multi-apps real-time. A Few common issues resolved with Forum Help & little fanfare. And I’d Always Want REAL-TIME Protection as Help Only when you Think to Scan is No Help to me. Spend the $$ which currently shows – $39.96/Yr One Device – or – X2 That for (5) Devices..

        I think they have as good a Sppt Forum and “desire to Help” as I’ve seen, although most every question’s 1st Reply is “canned” instructions to provide data they’ve pkg’d to get via a Special Link. Comply only as situation and question type dictate, otherwise, somebody responds directly.

        W10-64 1909 Pro / Hm-Stdnt Ofce '16 C2R / HP Envy Desktop-Ethernet/ 12 GB / 256G SSD + 1 TB HDD / i5 Coffee Lake/ GP=2 + FtrU=365 + QU=0

      • #2283494 Reply
        RetiredGeek
        AskWoody MVP

        For years I’ve used Malwarebytes Premium (snagged several lifetime licenses early on) in conjunction with both Defender and it’s predecessor w/o issue and I’ve never had an infection.  For the last 6 months I’ve been using MB as my main vs secondary AV on my test machine w/o issue also.

        HTH 😎

        May the Forces of good computing be with you!

        RG

        PowerShell & VBA Rule!
        Computer Specs

        • This reply was modified 2 months, 4 weeks ago by RetiredGeek.
        • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by RetiredGeek.
        2 users thanked author for this post.
      • #2283524 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        For years I’ve used Malwarebytes Premium (snagged several lifetime licenses early on) in conjunction with both Defender and it’s predecessor w/o issue and I’ve never had an infection.  For the last 6 months I’ve been using MB as my main vs secondary AV on my test machine w/o issue also.

        HTH 😎

        • This reply was modified 2 months, 4 weeks ago by RetiredGeek.
        • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by RetiredGeek.

        Right you are. When you let the registered version of MalwarebytesAntimalware
        register in the protection center of Windows10, than it takes over the Windows Virus and Malware apps. Works great, for shure with the browser-addon (seperately to in install from the addon-store of Firefox or Chrome)

        xx

        ~ ~ ~
        • This reply was modified 2 months, 4 weeks ago by Fred.
      • #2283588 Reply
        anonymous
        Guest

        @Tex265

        I completely agree with @CADesertRat ‘s statements above in post 2283277. EXCEPT, if I were to try uninstalling it, I’d just use it’s own built-in uninstaller that is listed in the Control Panel.

        I’ve had identical experience to him as well, no issues at all over many years of using the free version in terms of conflicts with other anti-crapware programs. It runs its scans extremely quickly, scanning over 330,000 items in about 3½ minutes’ time on my computer with an 8 year old SSD! And that’s running its’ default whole system scan, labeled the “Threat Scan”. On my computer with a spinning rust HD, the same scan takes about 7½ minutes’ time.

        Not a lot of obnoxious nags about “Upgrade NOW to get full protection NOW NOW”, etc. The free version does have nags for upgrading, but I find them easy to ignore, as they’re only presented during the Threat Scan while it’s running. Just focus on the sheer number of items scanned and the short amount of time it’s taking using the stats it presents to you while the scan is running and you’re all set.

        It has a setting where you can tell it to automatically download and install any definition and/or program updates it finds if you’d like. Regardless of any update settings, it will automatically download and install any new definition updates it finds ANY time you ask it to do ANY type of scan, and it will do so immediately before beginning the actual scan.

        I hope this helps with your decision.

        R/

        Bob99

      • #2283700 Reply
        Tex265
        AskWoody Plus

        Thanks to all that have responded! Very helpful info.

        When you let the registered version of MalwarebytesAntimalware register in the protection center of Windows10, than it takes over the Windows Virus and Malware apps.

        May I assume that the “Free” version will not perform this “take-over” of Windows Defender, as I only want it to run at my direction only when I want it to?

         

        Windows 10 Pro x64 v1909 and Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64 (RIP)
        • #2283724 Reply
          CADesertRat
          AskWoody Plus

          May I assume that the “Free” version will not perform this “take-over” of Windows Defender,

          Yes, you may assume that. The free version runs when you ask it to or you can set a schedule.

          Don't take yourself so seriously, no one else does 🙂
          4 Win 10 Pro at 1909 (3 Desktops, 1 Laptop).

      • #2283882 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        Thanks to all that have responded! Very helpful info.

        When you let the registered version of MalwarebytesAntimalware register in the protection center of Windows10, than it takes over the Windows Virus and Malware apps.

        May I assume that the “Free” version will not perform this “take-over” of Windows Defender, as I only want it to run at my direction only when I want it to?

         

        Yes, Tex265, CADesertrat is right. Only the payd version can take over the Defender if you want it to. It can be used for larger environments very well. The free version is normaly used as a second opinion, good to support other AV+Malwarescanners. Using the paid Malwarebytes together with Defender is very well possible, only Defender is rather more agressive in (cloud)scanning of the files on line.

         

        ~ ~ ~
        • #2283887 Reply
          OscarCP
          AskWoody Plus

          Fred, I also use Malwarebytes free version “for a second opinion”, every time after I have made a scan of the Mac SSD with my own AV (Webroot SecureAnywhere). Do you know if the paid version of MB also takes over one’s AV when using a Mac?

          Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

          1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2283921 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        Fred, I also use Malwarebytes free version “for a second opinion”, every time after I have made a scan of the Mac SSD with my own AV (Webroot SecureAnywhere). Do you know if the paid version of MB also takes over one’s AV when using a Mac?

        @OscarCP sorry, I do not have the means and knowledge to answer this for sure. I know MBAM from the beginning , in the mean time they have quite a reputation to protect; please write to the helpdesk or ask in the forum. To me they made  good ajustments in the program when I had an important issue with MBAM vs Symantec-PGP-desktop.

        NO, I am not on their payroll or am I connected to them, if people want to know

        As far as I can tell when you wish to use a good independant [virus-malware-guard +behaviour +firewall] “complete protection”, try Kaspersky.

        (Beware, this not any protection against human failure and 0day/backdoor crime) 🌞

        ~ ~ ~
      • #2285373 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        @OscarCP

        you see @OscarCP even this simple answer to you above has been altered.
        Not much is genuine these days.
        I will appreciate it if you share your Malwarebytes experiences , thank you in advance

        ~ ~ ~
        • #2285452 Reply
          OscarCP
          AskWoody Plus

          Fred: “…even this simple answer to you above has been altered.
          Not much is genuine these days.

          Do you mean somebody else changed your answer after you submitted here?

          As to my experience with Malwarebytes, free version: there is nothing for me to comment or ask further than I already have, because, after several months using MB, it has yet to find anything at all that is bad in my computer. I’m not sure if this is good news or bad news… But that’s how it is.

           

          Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

      • #2285467 Reply
        Bill C.
        AskWoody Plus

        My only caution for Malwarebytes is with the Premium version is to be cautious about being an earlier updater when there is a Full point upgrade. In the move from 3.xx to 4.xx some problems were reported.

        I had NONE, however, I usually go to their website and look for the offline full installer rather than use the installer stub that downloads the full program.

        I used to use the portable free version and it found lots of things on a friends PC, courtesy of her son downloading videos and music from dodgey sources that offered “Download Managers”. It always worked very well cleaning the crap and background stuff that slowed her machine to a crawl. That was why I upgraded to a Premium 3-seat license back in Version 2.xx. It still renews at that price.

        I also use the MWB Browserguard extension for Firefox on both Windows and our Linux machines. Like they commercial says, don’t leave home without it.

        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2285478 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        My only caution for Malwarebytes is with the Premium version is to be cautious about being an earlier updater when there is a Full point upgrade. In the move from 3.xx to 4.xx some problems were reported.

        I had NONE, however, I usually go to their website and look for the offline full installer rather than use the installer stub that downloads the full program.

        I used to use the portable free version and it found lots of things on a friends PC, courtesy of her son downloading videos and music from dodgey sources that offered “Download Managers”. It always worked very well cleaning the crap and background stuff that slowed her machine to a crawl. That was why I upgraded to a Premium 3-seat license back in Version 2.xx. It still renews at that price.

        I also use the MWB Browserguard extension for Firefox on both Windows and our Linux machines. Like they commercial says, don’t leave home without it.

        @ Bill_C quite my story, including the Browserguard. Using MalwatereBytesAntiMalware (registered) and from time to time regularly check with AdwCleaner to hoover things one didn’t ask for. Specially after a microsoft updates that can alter things their way. AdwCleaner is now part of MBytes and I hope it will remain as accurate as it was.

        ~ ~ ~
      • #2285486 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        Do you mean somebody else changed

        .Yes OscarCP, that is exactly what I wrote to you; and it is not the text that I wrote here. So this text was altered 😡. If you want I can proof it.  The world is falling apart and trust is fading away, and caring for another seems to have become old fashioned .

        In your case it seems ok to use the limited free version, I recon. Though, once I had a new CEO and he stated that with his personal private protection habits he never noticed anything wrong at his private pc’s… I just asked him if this were correct criteria to to think it’s okay, and proofed him that a commercial network is different to approach.

        Thank you for sharing your Mac-experiences. Regards

        ~ ~ ~
        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2295892 Reply
        Nathan Parker
        AskWoody_MVP

        I use the free edition on one Mac and Premium on another Mac. Also used the free edition on Windows before.

        It’s great for supplemental protection to another antivirus tool such as Defender. The free version is totally on-demand (no real-time scanning), but it should be good enough for your needs.

        Nathan Parker

        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2296782 Reply
        Tex265
        AskWoody Plus

        Yes, Tex265, CADesertrat is right. Only the payd version can take over the Defender if you want it to.

        Maybe I’m reading the Malwarebytes site incorrectly, but it seems that the current Free version does take over and turn off Windows Defender for the trial period of 30 days, then “supposidly” turns it back on.

        Can someone confirm my reading?  And is there a way during installation to not have it take over Windows Defender?

        Windows 10 Pro x64 v1909 and Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64 (RIP)
        • #2296789 Reply
          PKCano
          Da Boss

          The Trial is the FULL version that runs for 30 days and acts like the FULL version for that time, turning off WD because you don’t want two FULL time A/Vs running in the background..

          You can TURN OFF the Trial (Full) version in the SETTINGS immediately after install. Then it acts like the FREE version and not the FULL version.

          1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2296856 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        Yes, Tex265, CADesertrat is right. Only the payd version can take over the Defender if you want it to.

        Maybe I’m reading the Malwarebytes site incorrectly, but it seems that the current Free version does take over and turn off Windows Defender for the trial period of 30 days, then “supposidly” turns it back on.

        Can someone confirm my reading?  And is there a way during installation to not have it take over Windows Defender?

        @Tex265 : when you let MalwareBytesAM NOT register in the Windows Security Center than you have Windows Defender active aswell. You can change these settings, and needs a reboot to settle. They work together without problem, but in some cases there is some delay, mostly because they both use the “cloud-checking” and Microsoft is sending a lot of info home.

        Untitled

         

        ~ ~ ~
        • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by Fred.
        • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by Fred.
        Attachments:
        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2297005 Reply
        Tex265
        AskWoody Plus

        So upon installation, you have to allow the program to turn off and take over Windows Defender?  Then you can go into the program and turn it off which hopefully will restore back Windows Defender – correct?

        Or do you get an option to select during program installation?

        Windows 10 Pro x64 v1909 and Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64 (RIP)
        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2297027 Reply
        bbearren
        AskWoody MVP

        I have been using Malwarebytes Premium for years, with several lifetime licenses (which is no longer available). I do not use the newer subscription model, so I can’t comment on that. However, the lifetime license model has not been abandoned and it continues to be updated regularly. I am currently running version 4.2.0.82, with a signature update today at 8:38 AM.

        The version I am using does not turn off Windows Defender, but supplements AV/AM protections, and the two work very well together. I have had no issues other than the occasional blocking of a website on Firefox for malicious content, and certainly no incentive to “upgrade” to a yearly subscription model.

        Create a fresh drive image before making system changes/Windows updates, in case you need to start over!
        "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns
        "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware

        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2297039 Reply
        EP
        AskWoody_MVP

        @Tex265

        if you need more help or support when using Malwarebytes, here’s their support forum

        note: older versions of Malwarebytes (like v4.1 & older) had serious problems when running it on Win10 v2004/20H1 but the 4.2 version is fully compatible with 2004

      • #2297049 Reply
        Barry
        AskWoody Plus

        After using Malawarebytes for many years (free version) i have given up and uninstalled it. First it was the fact that it stated forcing you into the 14 day pro trial whether you wanted it or not and now taking over your anti-virus without giving you a chance to opt out first.

        It used to every now and than find malware when i was on windows 7 but i have never had a positive hit since i upgraded to windows 10.

        I understand their need to make make money but i do not want or need the pro version.

        Barry
        Windows 10 Home V 20H2

        • #2297090 Reply
          OscarCP
          AskWoody Plus

          Barry writes: “First it was the fact that it stated forcing you into the 14 day pro trial whether you wanted it or not and now taking over your anti-virus without giving you a chance to opt out first

          I have had installed and been using the free version of Malwarebytes for nearly half a year now in my Mac and it has not done any of that. Perhaps Barry is referring to his experience at some earlier time. Or could this be a problem for those who use Windows 10?

          Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

          1 user thanked author for this post.
        • #2297097 Reply
          PKCano
          Da Boss

          In the Settings, you can immediately disable the 14-day trial on install to give you the Free version. You are not forced into a 14-day trial.

          1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2297055 Reply
        Fred
        AskWoody Plus

        So upon installation, you have to allow the program to turn off and take over Windows Defender?  Then you can go into the program and turn it off which hopefully will restore back Windows Defender – correct?

        Or do you get an option to select during program installation?

        @Tex265.. Install the MalwBAM (the free tryal is the same as the registered version)  after that , open the app and set you setting after you like; than Reboot Windows,
        After Reboot you can change your settings; when changing the Register In WindowsSecurity Screen it is good to restart Windows.
        Succes!

        ~ ~ ~
      • #2297092 Reply
        Alex5723
        AskWoody Plus

        So upon installation, you have to allow the program to turn off and take over Windows Defender?

        Of course you do. NEVER run 2 real time A/Vs at the same time.

        • #2297100 Reply
          OscarCP
          AskWoody Plus

          Alex “Of course you do. NEVER run 2 real time A/Vs at the same time.

          I have Malwarebytes and Webroot SecureAnywhere in my Mac and, in agreement with Alex, that is something I never do — and it is also very easy to avoid doing, as long as one also makes sure that the Webroot, in my case, is not already scanning something “in real time” when I want to start scanning with Malwarebytes, whose free version only works “on demand”: when one makes it scan by clicking on its icon to launch a new scan. So what one has to do depends on whether the AV one uses work on demand or in real time.

          Windows 7 Professional, SP1, x64 Group W (ex B) & macOS Mojave + Linux (Mint)

          1 user thanked author for this post.
        • #2297272 Reply
          Tex265
          AskWoody Plus

          Of course you do. NEVER run 2 real time A/Vs at the same time.

          My question was meant to see if there was a way to keep Malwarebyte’s installation from being able to turn off Windows Defender during installation.

          I don’t like the idea of the installation playing around with turning Defender off then hopefully turning it back on.  What if it screws up Windows Defender in the process?

          Windows 10 Pro x64 v1909 and Windows 7 Pro SP1 x64 (RIP)
      • #2297125 Reply
        Barry
        AskWoody Plus

        In the Settings, you can immediately disable the 14-day trial on install to give you the Free version. You are not forced into a 14-day trial.

        Where in the settings? I reinstalled it yesterday because earlier in this post you said the same thing and i couldn’t find anything about reverting to the free version.

        I de-registered it and turned off all the settings regarding scans and told it not to load on start up and still this morning when i started my computer it ran a scan.

        Barry
        Windows 10 Home V 20H2

        • #2297129 Reply
          PKCano
          Da Boss

          Under Accounts you can Deactivate the Trial. I have done it multiple times on my Win10. Where this one says “Activate” it will say Deactivate”

          Screen-Shot-2020-09-17-at-5.23.03-PM

          Attachments:
          1 user thanked author for this post.
          • #2297140 Reply
            Barry
            AskWoody Plus

            Yesterday when I looked mine said activate only and when I clicked on it it only gave me the option to enter a activation code.

            I will try again later. This time I used the uninstall option from their support tool. Maybe there was something left over from previous installations.

            Barry
            Windows 10 Home V 20H2

            • #2297145 Reply
              PKCano
              Da Boss

              Yours says “Activate” like mine b/c it is DEACTIVATED like mine.
              Notice mine is the Free version – I deactivated the Trial after install.

              1 user thanked author for this post.
    Viewing 26 reply threads

    Please follow the -Lounge Rules- no personal attacks, no swearing, and politics/religion are relegated to the Rants forum.

    Reply To: Seeking info on Malwarebytes

    You can use BBCodes to format your content.
    Your account can't use Advanced BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.