• Startup loop after adding new user and installing File Explore Patch

    Home » Forums » AskWoody support » Windows » Windows 11 » Windows 11 version 22H2 » Startup loop after adding new user and installing File Explore Patch

    Author
    Topic
    #2589115

    2 users added without issue to windows 11 22H2 on Dell Expiron 16 laptop, then

    while adding the 3rd which went ok until I started adding “File Explore Patch” to it.

    Screen began flashing and appeared to be looping so I got out with a CTL/ALT/Del.

    Now when I restart the laptop, it comes up fine but any user I choose goes into a

    startup loop, flashing between desktop and blank screen, and again, only way out is

    CTL/ALT/Del sign out. First 2 users were added a couple weeks ago and running fine

    and explorer patch was added to them, maybe I got a different (bad) copy of Patch.

    I need help, thanks.

     

    Viewing 0 reply threads
    Author
    Replies
    • #2589145

      Don’t know if it’s exactly the same but I had something similar on a single user pc. I ended up fixing it by booting in safe mode and using system restore to roll back before the File Explore Patch install. I was then able to log in without issue and re-install File Explore Patch without any problems. No idea why but it worked.

      1 user thanked author for this post.
      PFC
      • #2589151

        thanks for your reply.

        Being a fairly new laptop I made use of Dell’s scan/repair/restore and like you found a restore point before the problem. I was able to restart ok and it showed only the first 2 users but it created other issues that I now have to deal with Dell. I lost audio and there are several warnings in Device Manager and then it wouldn’t shut down without another F12 at logo and find another method of shutting down. a lot of crap.

    Viewing 0 reply threads
    Reply To: Startup loop after adding new user and installing File Explore Patch

    You can use BBCodes to format your content.
    Your account can't use all available BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.

    Your information: