News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • syncing my Outlook account to Win 10 Mail account

Posted on WSBruno Terlingen Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Productivity software by function MS Outlook and email programs syncing my Outlook account to Win 10 Mail account

• This topic has 4 replies, 2 voices, and was last updated 5 months ago.
    Viewing 4 reply threads
    • Author
        WSBruno Terlingen
        AskWoody Lounger

Dear People, I have been using Microsoft’s Outlook email program for several years, however my subscription is about to run out and I have decided to use Microsoft 10 Mail. I also have a gmail account.

So, I set up Win 10 Mail and synced that with my gmail account, good a gold: anything that comes into my gmail account goes into my Win 10 Mail box also.

I then wanted to sync my Outlook account to Win 10 Mail but it will not “read” the provider’s server by the looks of it. My provider is Australia’s biggest: Telstra. I have set all the parameters with the email in being: imap.telstra.com  on port 993, the email out being smtp.telstra.com on port 465.

I had a Telstra technician take over my PC last night by the overseas out-sourced people did not have a clue.

Surely there are people who have gone from using Outlook to Mail, using the same provider/same email address.

Please assist.

Bruno terlingen.

• #2037717 Reply
        Paul T
        AskWoody MVP

MS have a page with instructions for connecting a new account.

Is that how you have it setup?
        What doesn’t work / sync?

cheers, Paul

• #2038028 Reply
        WSBruno Terlingen
        AskWoody Lounger