• Upgrading from Windows 10 Home to Pro

Home » Forums » AskWoody support » Windows » Windows 10 » Questions: Win10 » Upgrading from Windows 10 Home to Pro

• This topic has 14 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 2 months ago.
    Author
    Topic

Thanks to the Ask Woody Forum, especially Susan Bradley, for enabling me to be more proactive about keeping my PC’s in service.

I wasn’t able to get patch tools to work (WUMT, WuMgr) but eventually in Susan’s September patch spreadsheet, I came across the following in the tab: Rules for safe patching; Updates can be deferred on Window 10 Pro and above. If you’re running Win10 Home, we recommend upgrading to Pro.

So that’s want I want to do for my PC currently running

Edition Windows 10 Home

Version 21H2

OS build 19044.1889

and I have a paid subscription for Bitdefender Antivirus Plus that recently renewed for $63.74

Here’s what I’m planning to do:

1. Cancel paid subscription for Bitdefender Antivirus Plus (today is day 29, they gave me 30 days to get a refund)
    2. Purchase Windows 10 Pro from the Microsoft store for $99 and use Microsoft Defender Antivirus.

In preparation for the upgrade:

• I ran disk clean up.
    • Although you recommend making an image backup, I have never used that kind of software. I’ve brought computer back into service from fresh installs of Window 10 by reinstalling application as I need them. I’m comfortable with doing that again, if it become necessary.
    • I have my data backed up
    • I’ve not made a bootable recovery disk; it seems overkill for my situation where I don’t customize things, don’t really have any noticeable issue with my current OS.

Please review this plan, and let me know you thoughts.

If I cancel the Bitdefender subscription will it go away immediately or should I disable it or perhaps uninstall it before upgrading to Window 10 Pro?

Thank you for your consideration of my situation.

Best, Beth

Viewing 7 reply threads
    Author
    Replies