News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon

We're community supported and proud of it!

  • W10_2004 Missing Print Management

    Home Forums AskWoody support Windows Windows 10 Windows 10 version 2004 – May 2020 Update W10_2004 Missing Print Management

    Viewing 10 reply threads
    • Author
      Posts
      • #2269065
        gemelo_malvado
        AskWoody Plus

        Laptop with a fresh install (not upgrade) of Windows 10 2004 Enterprise. I am missing Print Management under Administrator Tools. Printmanagment.msc also is a no go. Can anyone else confirm this on their 2004 Pro or Enterprise versions?

      • #2269106
        cyberSAR
        AskWoody Plus

        Win10 Pro upgraded from 1909 Print Management still available.

      • #2269110
        PKCano
        Manager

        On Enterprise Edition, are your printers being managed from a server instead of locally?

        1 user thanked author for this post.
      • #2269114
        PKCano
        Manager

        I just looked. I still have Print Management under Admin Tools also in Win10 Pro.

      • #2269127
        joep517
        AskWoody MVP

        Running Win 10 Pro Insider build 19635 and Print Management still there.

        --Joe

        • This reply was modified 1 year, 2 months ago by joep517. Reason: correct build number
      • #2269133
        gemelo_malvado
        AskWoody Plus

        Well that’s just weird it is not on my machine. Thanks everyone for checking.

        1 user thanked author for this post.
        • #2302719
          mcnic2019
          AskWoody Plus

          Hi,

           

          Did you ever find out how to fix it? its missing on my new laptop Win 10 Pro 2004.

          • #2302730
            PKCano
            Manager

            Under Settings->Devices check the printer settings. Is “Allow Win to manage printers” checked?

            • #2302732
              mcnic2019
              AskWoody Plus

              Hi thanks for getting back to me but i have managed to add it as a feature, in manage optional features. see my other post on this thread.

              • #2348723
                anonymous
                Guest

                Thank you!  I got Print Management back by installing it in Manage Optional Features!!   Much appreciated.

              • #2354636
                anonymous
                Guest

                Thanks for the tip!

      • #2302731
        mcnic2019
        AskWoody Plus

        Hello all,

        I think I have a solution for you, I’ve just managed to get it working on mine.

        I’m not sure when Microsoft started using this method but

        1. If you open the start menu/Settings and search “manage optional features”,
        2. Then add a feature enter “Print” in the search box
        3. Hopefully print management console should show up as an option from which you can install it.

        Hope this helps,

        Dan

        1 user thanked author for this post.
        • #2302736
          doriel
          AskWoody Lounger

          I dont know if others have the same, but mine window with optional features is completely blank.
          EDIT: my PC is joined in domain, so maybe it will work for other people.

          Dell Latitude E6530, Intel Core i5 @ 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, W10 20H2 Enterprise

          HAL3000, AMD Athlon 200GE @ 3,4 GHz, 8GB RAM, Fedora 29

          PRUSA i3 MK3S+

          • This reply was modified 9 months, 4 weeks ago by doriel.
          • #2302738
            mcnic2019
            AskWoody Plus

            ahh mine is domain joined as well, not sure if you have access to the group policies, but i found this little gem yesterday as i couldn’t install .net 3.5 when domain joined because of wsus. i imagine print management may fall under the same boat.

             

            https://4sysops.com/archives/install-rsat-1809-and-other-optional-features-in-wsus-environments/

            Go to the section titled

            Allowing access to Windows Update via Group Policy

            i applied that and it fixed it for me.

            • This reply was modified 9 months, 4 weeks ago by mcnic2019.
            1 user thanked author for this post.
            • #2302741
              doriel
              AskWoody Lounger

              It is fresh istallation from yesterday. I have no optional features installed and if I click big PLUS button, there is empty list, no matter what I enter there. As I said, maybe its because my PC is joined in domain with AD, WSUS and all other dependecies.

              I tried to search both czech and english equivalents: tisk + print

              Dell Latitude E6530, Intel Core i5 @ 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, W10 20H2 Enterprise

              HAL3000, AMD Athlon 200GE @ 3,4 GHz, 8GB RAM, Fedora 29

              PRUSA i3 MK3S+

              • #2302746
                mcnic2019
                AskWoody Plus

                I did edit my response above but I think that’s the wrong way to do it. sorry!

                ahh mine is domain joined as well, not sure if you have access to the group policies, but i found this little gem yesterday as I couldn’t install .net 3.5 when domain joined because of wsus. I imagine print management may fall under the same boat.

                 

                https://4sysops.com/archives/install-rsat-1809-and-other-optional-features-in-wsus-environments/

                Go to the section titled

                Allowing access to Windows Update via Group Policy

                i applied that and it fixed it for me.

                1 user thanked author for this post.
            • #2302747
              doriel
              AskWoody Lounger

              This is getting interesting. I ran into another change. On my 1809 I can edit GPO, on 2004 I cant. Lot has changed over last three builds. Ill investigate more.

              EDIT: Oh I wish I could delete my last post. I am local admin on my computer 😑 I think I need vacation.

              Dell Latitude E6530, Intel Core i5 @ 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, W10 20H2 Enterprise

              HAL3000, AMD Athlon 200GE @ 3,4 GHz, 8GB RAM, Fedora 29

              PRUSA i3 MK3S+

              • This reply was modified 9 months, 4 weeks ago by doriel. Reason: my stupidity
          • #2302739
            mcnic2019
            AskWoody Plus

            you don’t see the below?

            • #2302744
              doriel
              AskWoody Lounger

              Unfortunatelly not. But it seems like my local issue. You found the way how to solve this topic 🙂
              Good job!

              Dell Latitude E6530, Intel Core i5 @ 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, W10 20H2 Enterprise

              HAL3000, AMD Athlon 200GE @ 3,4 GHz, 8GB RAM, Fedora 29

              PRUSA i3 MK3S+

      • #2302733
        doriel
        AskWoody Lounger

        Check. Its not there. I launched “blank console” (WIN+R > mmc) and snap-in module for printer is not present.

        Under Settings->Devices check the printer settings. Is “Allow Win to manage printers” checked?

        Nope. Didnt work for me. After reboot, print management still not there.

        Dell Latitude E6530, Intel Core i5 @ 2.6 GHz, 4GB RAM, W10 20H2 Enterprise

        HAL3000, AMD Athlon 200GE @ 3,4 GHz, 8GB RAM, Fedora 29

        PRUSA i3 MK3S+

      • #2305692
        anonymous
        Guest

        This worked for me, thank you so much for posting!

      • #2350322
        anonymous
        Guest

        For everyone using the Home Edition of Windows 10 and comig here to find the answer why there is no <b>printmanagement.msc </b>on your system and why you can’t add it as an optional feature etc.:

        The Print Manager is NOT AVAILABLE in this version of Windows.

      • #2370007
        anonymous
        Guest

        Windows 10 Pro 2004; had to login with my Domain Admin account (which is a local admin) to see anything listed in Apps>Optional Features.

    Viewing 10 reply threads

    Please follow the -Lounge Rules- no personal attacks, no swearing, no politics or religion.

    Reply To: W10_2004 Missing Print Management

    You can use BBCodes to format your content.
    Your account can't use Advanced BBCodes, they will be stripped before saving.