News, tips, advice, support for Windows, Office, PCs & more. Tech help. No bull. We're community supported by donations from our Plus Members, and proud of it
Home icon Home icon Home icon Email icon RSS icon
  • Windows Updates on Office 2010

Posted on twinglestech Comment on the AskWoody Lounge

Home Forums AskWoody support Microsoft Office by version Windows Updates on Office 2010

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  alphacharlie 1 year, 2 months ago.

• Author

twinglestech
      AskWoody Lounger

Hello, newbie here trying to understand our WSUS updates.

Currently we are running Microsoft Office 365 ProPlus (C2R). We also have MS Project 2010 installed on a handful of laptops and workstations. This month those computers show as needing KB4022209 and KB4011186 (Excel 2010 and Publisher 2010). I don’t even have Publisher installed. Are they necessary? We are very selective on the KBs we install.

We have primarily Dell Latitude laptops and Precision towers, with a handful of Surface Pro 4s in our environment. OS is Win10 Bld 1703 and 1709.

Kari

• #199084 Reply

PKCano
      Da Boss

KB 4022209 addresses a security vulnerability in Excel. Although the quote below applies to the .msi (persistent) version, and not C2R, I suspect that the fix is the same. C2R is not updated through Windows Update or the Catalog.

The MS page for KB 4022209 says this:

This security update resolves vulnerabilities in Microsoft Office that could allow remote code execution if a user opens a specially crafted Office file. To learn more about these vulnerabilities, see Microsoft Common Vulnerabilities and Exposures CVE-2018-8246.

Be aware that the update in the Microsoft Download Center applies to the Microsoft Installer (.msi)-based edition of Office 2010. It doesn’t apply to the Office 2010 Click-to-Run editions, such as Microsoft Office 365 Home

• #199095 Reply

twinglestech
      AskWoody Lounger